RSS

Gravitas – The Evolution Of The Business Blog

10 Aug

I’m into week 8 of this blog and the content appears to have attracted a couple of thousand people so far. The mission, in the beginning, was to determine if a business blog could attract the attention of people who didn’t already know we, as a business, existed. Mission complete. It does.

But, are they people interested in our products and services? That’s why we’re in business, right? To maximize a return on the investment of time, capital, and labour by converting desire into transactions whereby a willing someone trades us more money for a product or service then what it cost us to acquire, store, and administer said goods or services AND the transaction.

Did this experiment produce a someone? And, are there enough someone’s to generate sufficient profits to substantiate our continued investment in producing a business blog?

Dunno.

What we have learned is that there is a tremendous void – a need – for experiential knowledge about plastics; that is, there’s lots of factual knowledge out there making engineers salivate, but there’s not enough “done that, been there” stuff for the Average Joe to get his head around how useful plastic really is. And, that’s where I’ve suggested that, as an industry, this blogging thing can pay off – as a tool of inspiration for more people to engage plastics as an alternative design & manufacturing solution to wood, glass, & metal.

Consumer Gravitas. That’s what business blogging really is – the fulfillment of a sense of duty and responsibility to serve the consumer at a higher level than a simple offering of useful goods and services.

Framed like that, business blogging, in itself, evolves beyond the criterion of profit and motive and into the realm of academia and enlightenment able to shift the thinking, and ultimately, the behavior, of an entire society towards an evolution into something greater and more able than it ever thought it could be.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2007 in Blogging

 

2 responses to “Gravitas – The Evolution Of The Business Blog

  1. Rosa Say | Managing with Aloha

    August 10, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    When I first subscribed to The Plastic Spork Shawn, I marked it as a “ho‘ohana blog,” meaning that it was one that was written to explore and share the writer’s purpose and passion for the work they do – yours Shawn. And I think your ho‘ohana continues to come out loud and clear here. As you’ve said, a business blog needs to deliver some return, just as the business itself does, however the metrics can be much more intangible, and the writer must decide if they’re okay with that. As a reader, I love where you arrive in your last two paragraphs, wanting your ho‘ohana to result in an experiential result for your readers, one that will result at “a higher level than a simple offering of useful goods and services.”

    You are doing some really smart things here – like the survey you’ve added so you know who is reading and why, and your testing of various topics and categories to see which will continue to attract. I think you are building a magnificent resource for your own industry, serving them well with more knowledge than they’re likely to get within their own jobs. Once they find your blog, you will definitely help retain the person who started “just for a job” and now needs to discover “hey, there might be more to this than just my paycheck” when they don’t get inspired that way by their own boss. As far as the ‘average Joe’ goes, you can’t sell to us, you have to give us this ache to buy. Have you done that? I’ll give you my own example.

    I returned home from a week’s travel yesterday, and as is my habit I brought a small “missed you and was thinking of you while gone” gift home for my husband and my son. This time however, it took me some hunting to find what I most wanted to bring home for my son; a replacement for his favorite plastic cup, one he had finally dropped one time too many and broken. I first had brought that cup home over ten years ago; I was a retail buyer at the time, and it was a vendor sample of logo merchandise for a golf line, with funky golfing emblems between the see-through plastic layers. My son loved it because he never wanted to bother with a coaster, saving our furniture from condensation rings. As he grew older, it was the only cup he trusted near his computer.

    So yesterday, I bought him two new Tervis Tumblers from a specialty kitchen store at $16.50 each without blinking an eye. Yes, I wanted the perfect gift for my son (and he was ecstatic) however I’m quite positive I would not have appreciated the genius and beauty of those tumblers without ever having read The Plastic Spork Shawn— and they ARE so artistic without those awful golf logos, which at the time, was my vendor’s only interest in hawking them (I never bought the line). Before reading your blog I certainly would have balked at paying that price for plastic Shawn, looking for something else for my son (he’s now old enough to get over it!) But not yesterday; because of you, when I handed over the money I figured I was saying thank you and “I appreciate your craft” to whoever made those beauties.

     

Leave a Reply

 
